Tag: vegetarian

gluten-free oatmeal with fruit is a great solution for diabetics, celiacs and food allergic guests.

How to Read a Banquet Menu

This is the first in a series of posts on evaluating hotel banquet menus for event attendees with dietary needs. If you’ve done your due diligence and asked your guests if they have dietary needs, great job! – but that’s only half the battle. Trying to figure out what to serve everyone when you have guests with food allergies, celiac disease or diabetes, others who are vegan, vegetarians or raw and yet others with cultural or religious beliefs that require a specific diet can be daunting. Allergens are often disguised even in well-labeled banquet menus, and just because you’ve offered…

Read more

Lent dietary practices during meetings

Lent Brings Challenges for Event Planners When Menu Planning

Lent is a 40-day period where Christians all around the world sacrifice, reflect and do “spiritual housecleaning” in preparation for Easter. Two weeks ago the season of Lent began on Wednesday, after a traditional pancake supper the night before. During this annual ritual, millions of Christians all around the world commence a 40-day period of sacrifice, reflection and “spiritual housecleaning” in preparation for Easter. Though the exact timing varies between sects, the liturgical season typically starts on Ash Wednesday and ends just before Easter Sunday, and is meant to represent the period Jesus wandered alone in the desert. The word…

Read more